The Federal Communications Commission issued the following press release:

On Feb. 22, 2012, the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 (Spectrum Act or Act) became law. The Spectrum Act directs the Commission to reallocate the 700 MHz “D Block” (758-763 MHz/788-793 MHz) for public safety services and to assign a license for both the D Block and the existing public safety broadband spectrum (763-769 MHz/793-799 MHz) to the First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet). FirstNet is an independent authority to be formed within the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) at the Department of Commerce to oversee the establishment of a nationwide public safety broadband network. The Commission is required to “take all actions necessary to facilitate the transition” of the existing public safety broadband spectrum to FirstNet. Upon its establishment, FirstNet is responsible for taking “all actions necessary to ensure the building, deployment and operation of the nationwide public safety broadband network.” Among the transition issues that must be addressed in order to ensure that FirstNet can fulfill its mission is the disposition of the incumbent operators in both the public safety broadband spectrum and the D Block.

The spectrum to be assigned to FirstNet under the Spectrum Act is occupied by four classes of incumbents: (1) jurisdictions operating narrowband systems that predate the Commission’s 2007 Second Report and Order, some of which received waivers for continued deployment; (2) jurisdictions at the planning or deployment stage, which have been granted waivers to operate broadband systems (Broadband Waiver Recipients); (3) two jurisdictions operating wideband systems pursuant to waiver or Special Temporary Authority (STA); and (4) one commercial incumbent in the D Block spectrum, PTPMS II, licensed in the 761-763/791-793 band in the Des Moines-Quad Cities and El Paso- Albuquerque Major Economic Areas (MEAs).

The rest of the document can be viewed here.