The Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International honored recipients of APCO’s Annual Public Safety Communications Award Program at the 2011 Conference & Exposition in Philadelphia.

APCO presented seven categories of annual awards to public-safety communications personnel who demonstrate the highest levels of personal and professional conduct and performance in the line of duty.

The 2011 award winners are:

  • Richard Garman, Grays Harbor Communications E-911, Aberdeen, Wash. 
Telecommunicator of the Year
  • Robin Schmidt, Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office,West Palm Beach, Fla. 
Communications Center Director of the Year
  • Shayl McCormick, City of Tucson Communications Division, Tucson, Ariz. 
Line Supervisor of the Year
  • Peter Loewenheim, Washington County, Communications Maintenance, Hagerstown, Md.
Radio Frequency (RF) Technologist of the Year
  • Robert Jeffrey, Orange County Sheriff’s Office, Winter Park, Fl.
Information Technologist of the Year
  • Connie Felten, Lee’s Summit Police Department, Lee’s Summit, Mo.
Trainer of the Year
  • Pima County Sheriff’s Department, Tucson, Az. 
Team of the Year