The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials announced the 2008 Public Safety Award Program winners. The association presents the awards annually to public-safety communications personnel who have demonstrated the highest levels of conduct and performance in the line of duty. The following are this year's winners:

  • Telecommunicator of the Year: Karen Roy, Stafford County (Va.) Sheriff's Office.
  • Trainer of the Year: Debra Riley-Torrez, Euless (Texas) Police Department.
  • Information Technologist of the Year: Karl Fasold, Orleans Parish (La.) Communication District.
  • Radio Frequency Technologist of the Year: Eric Linsley, Mobile County (Ala.) Electronics Department.
  • Line Supervisor of the Year: Susan Waltz, Whitcom Regional 911 Center (Pullman, Wash.).
  • Communications Center Director of the Year: Thomas R. Orr, Law Enforcement Support Agency (Tacoma, Wash.).